Monthly Archives: March 2012
Getting a resctricted license
Penalties for DUI are very stiff. On a first conviction you might:Be sentenced to up to six months in jail. Fined anywhere between $390 and $1,000. Pay a “penalty assessment” equal to approximately three times the amount of your fine. … Continue reading
Manslaughter charge for DUI and motorcycle accident
A 77-year-old Chatham woman is accused of being drunk Saturday when the van she was driving in Florida veered into oncoming traffic and collided with a motorcycle driven by a North Carolina man who later died, authorities said.
Local officer praised for high DUI arrests
A Newport Beach police officer dedicated to keeping innocent people safe on the streets was recently honored by Mothers Against Drunk Driving for taking the keys away from more than 300 drunk drivers.
Busy St. Patrick’s Day weekend
The 2012 St. Patrick’s Day DUI Mobilization crackdown on drinking drivers resulted in a significant number of DUI arrests from Sobriety Checkpoints, according to a release from the Orange County Sheriff’s Dept.
2nd DUI results in jail time for local cop
An Orange County sheriff’s deputy has been convicted of drunken driving for the second time, pleading guilty to driving with a blood-alcohol level three times the legal limit.