Is It Worth Getting a DUI Lawyer in Huntington Beach?
A DUI attorney can help you navigate the legal system and may be able to get your criminal charges reduced or dropped. They can also point out weaknesses in the prosecution's case.
Our DUI lawyers average 21 years of criminal defense experience. Each Huntington Beach DUI attorney has the support of the law firm’s expert staff: a former DUI Task Force officer, a former Crime Lab alcohol testing supervisor, and a former California DMV license suspension hearing officer.
The DUI defense law firm has received the prestigious A-V peer review rating from the Martindale-Hubbell International Law Directory (very high to preeminent in legal ability and ethics) – the highest awarded and one shared by fewer than 7% of all lawyers in the country.
What is the Best Case Scenario for a DUI in California?
The best-case scenario for a DUI in California is to have the charges dropped or acquitted. A DUI attorney can help you fight the charges and get the best outcome possible.
The Law Offices of Taylor & Taylor has also been recognized for its excellence by client review-based awards from Yelp and Avvo, as well as by voting by fellow attorneys as “Southern California Super Lawyers” for 12 of the past 14 years. And the Better Business Bureau has given the firm the highest “A+” rating for the past 13 years.
Is It Worth Fighting a DUI in California?
It can be worth fighting a DUI in California because the consequences of a conviction can be severe. These consequences include:
- Probation for up to three years
- A maximum of six months in jail
- Multiple fines
- Re-education programs
- Higher insurance rates
Fighting a DUI can help you avoid these consequences. You can also safeguard your career prospects and maintain a positive reputation.
What Percentage of DUI Cases Get Dismissed in California?
California's combined DUI dismissal and acquittal rates range from 20% to 30% over the last ten years. In Los Angeles, there is about a 50% chance of getting a DUI dismissed if any technical errors can be found.
Can a First Time DUi Be Dismissed in California?
Yes, it is possible to have a first-time DUI offense dismissed in California. However, it can be practically impossible without an attorney. To get your DUI charges dismissed, you must:
- Plead not guilty
- Discredit the DUI arrest
- Prove that the BAC results are unreliable
- Ensure that the blood test is done in a safe and sterile environment
Reasons for a DUI dismissal:
- The methods for collecting evidence
- How long an officer views an individual that they suspect is under the influence
- Lack of sufficient evidence against you
- The arrest was unlawful, or evidence was gathered illegally
We also invite you to visit the law firm’s main website and review the many informative pages addressing such helpful subjects as Breathalyzer Accuracy and DUI License Suspensions — as well as answers to such frequently, asked questions as “What will happen if I refuse to take the breathalyzer test?” and “What does it cost to retain a DUI attorney?”
Our unique expert witnesses are available when needed to defend our clients against criminal DUI charges in court or at DMV license suspension hearings:
- Former 25-year DMV license suspension hearing officer
- Former police lab blood/breath alcohol forensic toxicologist
- 2 former police officers as DUI investigators
Traffic and Transportation
Orange County, California Sheriff Department
Online community resources and services for cad calls, inmate information, crime statistics and employment opportunities.
Orange County Government Online
Official website for the government of Orange County, California.
City of Huntington Beach Police Dept
City of Huntington Beach
Official city government website.