Driving under the influence is one of the most frequently committed crimes in California. For many people, they consider alcohol consumption to be an integral part of their social experiences. However, DUIs usually occur during or after such events. A quick decision to drive after some beers can then cost them greatly in money, time, and damages.
A first offense without causing bodily harm is punishable by fines, a license suspension and completion of a three-month alcohol education program. Despite the seriousness of the consequences, some individuals become repeat offenders instead of making positive tangible changes.
Generally speaking, the penalties of a second DUI depend on the facts of the particular case. A second-offense DUI is usually considered a misdemeanor. However, if the previous DUI was a felony offense, the second DUI may be subjected to more severe consequences that administrative and criminal penalties.
If someone commits a subsequent DUI within a 10-year period, the court typically imposes three to five years of summary probation, no less than 96 hours of jail time, and up to $2000 in fines. Depending on the circumstances of the case, additional conditions of probation may be implemented. This may look like restitution, AA meetings, or installing an ignition interlock device in your vehicle.
There are several factors that can increase a repeat offender’s punishment. The most common of these include:
- Having a BAC of 0.15% or higher
- Refusing to take a chemical test
- Endangering children under the age of 14 in the car
- Driving at a dangerously high speed
A subsequent DUI charge in California can be quite difficult to fight. The defense attorneys at Law offices of Taylor & Taylor are up for the daunting yet surmountable challenge. They have the extensive knowledge and experience needed to successfully handle cases like these.
The post The Costs and Consequences of a Second DUI in California appeared first on Law Offices of Taylor and Taylor - DUI Central.