Skip to Content

California’s New Ignition Interlock Law


A new law (AB 91) that took effect on July 1, 2010, mandates that those convicted of DUI involving alcohol will be required to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed on his or her vehicle. This law is required in the counties of Alameda, Los Angeles, Tulare and Sacramento.  In all other counties it is discretionary.

Those who are convicted of a first DUI in one of the four above described counties will be required to have the IID installed in his or her vehicle for at least 5 months.  If there are injuries involved, then the installation requirement is a minimum of 1 year. If you are convicted of a second DUI, then the requirement for the IID would be at least 1 year and for a third DUI it would be 2 or more years .

This new law has made court penalties more severe.  However, the new law has softened the license penalties on a second DUI.  Under the new law, if you are convicted of a second DUI you will be eligible to receive your license on a restricted basis after 90 days instead of one year under the old law.  Keep in mind that the minimum requirement for the installation of the IID is one year for a second DUI.  The judge has the discretion to impose a longer duration.

The post California’s New Ignition Interlock Law appeared first on Law Offices of Taylor and Taylor - DUI Central.

Share To: