Tag Archives: california state law

8th DUI Gets California Man 5 Years in Prison


The Santa Rosa Press Telegram has reported that a Northern California man has been sentenced to five years in a California state prison for his 8th DUI conviction. Continue reading

Leave a comment read more

Drunk Driver Crashes into CHP Car


Well, it’s one way to tip the police off that you might be driving drunk. Continue reading

1 Comment read more

Drunk Driving in Private Parking Lot


Last week, an anonymous caller notified the Bergenfield, New Jersey police that a possible drunk driver was attempting to drive a Ford Mustang out of the parking lot of a Wallgreen’s parking lot. When officers arrived, they found 24-year-old Travis Jacob in the vehicle as described by the caller. After failing field sobriety tests, Jacob was arrested for driving under the influence. Continue reading

Leave a comment read more

DMV Hearing for California Marijuana DUI?


When a person is arrested for a California DUI and it is suspected that alcohol is the cause of the intoxication, the arresting officer usually holds onto the person’s license and gives them an Administrative Per Se (APS) order of suspension slip. The driver has 10 days to contact the California DMV Driver Safety Office to schedule an APS hearing to try and save their license. Continue reading

Leave a comment read more

Dram Shop Laws in Decline


“Dram shop statutes” are laws that hold alcohol-serving establishments liable for injuries caused by drunk drivers who were served alcohol when they were obviously intoxicated. In other words, a bar or restaurant can be sued if they served a visibly intoxicated customer and that intoxicated person causes damage or injuries while driving drunk. Continue reading

Leave a comment read more