Out-of-State Drivers and California DUI


As the state of California continues to increase its efforts towards enforcing DUI’s, more and more out-of-state drives are being arrested for DUI as well.  Despite the fact that if you live and have a drivers license in another state, if you are arrested for DUI in California and convicted, your license in your home state will be suspended in the near future.

With the advent of the internet, and the ability for all of the DMV’s throughout the country to interlink, the flow of information has been expanded to unimaginable widths.  If your driving privileges are suspended in CA due to a loss at the DMV administrative level, the DMV here in CA will communicate with the DMV in your home state, informing them of the suspension.  Almost every state will suspend your driving privileges in your home state until this debacle is resolved.

One of the best ways to avoid a suspension in hour home state is to win the DMV administrative hearing in CA.  A hearing request must be made within 10 days of the arrest.  The DMV will set a date in the next 30-60 days, and you will have an opportunity to defend yourself against the allegations and evidence in the police report.  An experienced DUI attorney can be the difference between loosing your driving rights, or moving through the system unscathed.  The best part is, there is no penalty for fighting it.  It’s a free shot, so take advantage of the opportunity and make sure your strongest case is being argued.

This entry was posted in DMV Procedures and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *