Monthly Archives: July 2012

Felony DUI Based on Injury to Others


A California driving under the influence charge without any injury involved is generally charged as a misdemeanor. However, If you cause injury to another person as a result of your drunk driving, you can be charged with California Vehicle Code section 23153 “DUI with Injury.” Continue reading

Leave a comment read more

Cycling Under the Influence (CUI)


Can you be charged with driving under the influence under California’s DUI law, California Vehicle Code section 23152, when riding a bicycle? Simply put, no. Continue reading

1 Comment read more

Woman Gets No Jail Time for DUI Death


19-year-old Ashly Nicole Rodriguez and several passengers had left a party where she had been drinking when her vehicle overturned. The victim, 19-year-old Aaron Michael Ellis, was fatally ejected from Rodriguez’s vehicle Continue reading

Leave a comment read more

Felony DUI Based on Priors


A California driving under the influence charge is generally charged as a misdemeanor. However, if you have three priorable DUI convictions within the last 10 years or you have a prior felony conviction within the last 10 years, your current DUI charge may be charged as a felony. Continue reading

Leave a comment read more

California’s Implied Consent Law


Last month a client called seeking defense of driving under the influence charges. When discussing his case, he said that he refused to take a chemical test because he was under the impression that it was better for his defense to refuse. Unfortunately for my client, as well as many other ill-informed Californians, California has what is called the implied consent law. Continue reading

Leave a comment read more